Gleis Park, Berlin

How do you create living space where there isn't any?

Around the turn of the millennium, Italian architect and lifetime member of the Italian Senate Renzo Piano planned and created the multi-story carpark at Gleisdreieck. The result was additional parking space for the traffic expected to flow into Potsdamer Platz; however, it soon transpired that the building was never fully utilized. It was taking up space that was otherwise urgently needed. What was to be done?

We stripped down half of the carpark along the tracks of Subway Line 2 and converted it into housing: The buildings at the head and foot of Piano’s structure – two striking, barrel-shaped blocks – were preserved, and between them we created a 185-meter-long structure consisting of four six-story housing blocks boasting a curved design that makes them individually discernable. The balconies are slanted so that they face the sun and the green space of the Gleispark, with the result being quiet, light-flooded inner courtyards at the rear with vertically greened fire- and noise-insulating walls. These spaces are for communal use and shield the apartments from external influences – little oases in Berlin’s Mitte district.
The apartments in the former carpark vary in size, but they all have one thing in common: a terrace or a striking, curved balcony. The very bottom and the very top are particularly homely: The ground floor boasts family-friendly maisonettes with gardens, while the exclusive penthouses on the fifth floor have access to a large, greened roof terrace – with a spectacular view over the Gleispark.

With new sustainability: Housing instead of parking in Berlin’s Mitte district.

Project: Gleis Park, Berlin

Client: Bauwens Development GmbH & Co. KG

GFA: 17,800 m²

GV: 57,900 m³

Apartments: 178

Competition: 10/2014, 1st prize

Completion: 2020

Photos: Adrian Schulz

“Each new situation calls for new architecture.”

Ample light, views and greenery – that’s what turns a carpark into a home and creates new living space in the city.

Concept zoning | 4 houses | green wall | dynamics | sun position

Relevant themes from architecture and urban planning

The city as an infinite project

Driving Innovation Together

Gleis Park, Berlin

Wie schafft man Wohnraum, wo keiner ist?

Um die Jahrtausendwende plante und erstellte Renzo Piano, italienischer Architekt und Senator auf Lebenszeit, die Hochgarage am Gleisdreieck. So entstanden zusätzliche Parkmöglichkeiten für das erwartete Verkehrsaufkommen am Potsdamer Platz. Doch es stellte sich heraus: Die Garage war nicht ausgelastet. Sie nahm Platz in Anspruch, der dringend gebraucht wurde. Was tun?

Wir haben das Parkhaus entlang der U2-Gleise zur Hälfte zurückgebaut und bewohnbar gemacht: Die Kopfbauten des Piano-Baus – zwei markante, tonnenförmige Baukörper – blieben erhalten. Dazwischen stellten wir eine 185 Meter lange Formation von vier sechsgeschossigen Häusern, die aufgrund der geschwungenen Gebäudefigur als solche einzeln ablesbar sind. Die schräg ausgerichteten Balkone orientieren sich zur Sonne und zum Gleispark hin. So entstehen auf der Rückseite ruhige, lichte Innenhöfe mit vertikal begrünten Brand- und Lärmschutzwänden. Sie sind gemeinschaftlich nutzbar und schirmen die Wohnungen gegen äußere Einflüsse ab. Kleine Oasen in Mitte.

Die Wohnungen im ehemaligen Parkhaus sind unterschiedlich groß, doch eines haben sie alle gemeinsam: eine Terrasse oder einen markanten, geschwungenen Balkon. Ganz unten und ganz oben ist es besonders wohnlich: Im Erdgeschoss befinden sich familienfreundliche Maisonettes mit Garten, und die exklusiven Penthäuser im fünften Obergeschoss verfügen über eine großzügige, begrünte Dachterrasse – mit spektakulärem Blick über den Gleispark.

Durch neue Nachhaltigkeit: Wohnen statt Parken in Berlin-Mitte.

Projekt: Gleis Park, Berlin

Auftraggeber: Bauwens Development GmbH & Co. KG

BGF: 17.800 m²

BRI: 57.900 m³

Wohnungen: 178

Wettbewerb: 10/2014, 1. Preis

Fertigstellung: 2020

Foto: Adrian Schulz

„Jede neue Situation verlangt eine neue Architektur.“

Viel Licht, Blick und Grün – so macht man ein Parkhaus bewohnbar und schafft neuen Wohnraum in der Stadt.

Konzept Zonierung | 4 Häuser | Begrünte Wand | Dynamik | Sonnenstand

Relevante Themen aus Architektur und Städtebau

Transforming Towers