Theresie, Munich

How to create a lively quarter on former trade-fair grounds in the middle of Munich?

The former Alte Messe München exhibition grounds directly adjoins the broad expanse of the Theresienwiese. This was previously where trade fairs and exhibitions took place, but now it hosts something rather different: With “Theresie”, we have created a dynamic urban district that oozes diversity.

Housing, offices, hospitality and retail shape the new development. This diversity of uses is given expression in the differently designed buildings: The curved, amorphous block in the center captivates with the detailed execution of its scale-like steel and glass façade, appearing light and delicate in spite of its size, while the head-ends of the buildings adjoining the Theresienwiese present a notable contrast to this with their natural stone facades. We have made sure the housing development to the south of the district stands out too, injecting color with a red rendered façade. Between the residential and the office buildings, the open-air pedestrian throughfare with its shops, cafes and services on the ground floor offers a mix of leisure, living and working.

A new sense of life can arise if architecture creates a superlative framework for different usages.

Theresie

Project: Theresie, Munich

Client: RREEF Investment GmbH

GFA: 105,000 m²

BRI: 417,000 m³

Competition: 01/2000, 1st prize

Completion: 04/2004

Photos: Johannes Seyerlein

“Mixed-usage districts create the qualities we need in a city: diversity, openness and urban living.”

Developing a functional district and filling it with life is always a challenge for architects and city planners. The Theresie development is a good example of how it can be done, and remains a popular place where people enjoy spending time. Our architecture creates the framework for this. And that’s one of the reasons why we feel particularly at home in our own office on the Theresienwiese.

Relevant themes from architecture and urban planning

The city as an infinite project

Driving Innovation Together

Theresie, München

Wie entsteht ein lebendiges Quartier auf einem ehemaligen Messeareal mitten in München?

Das ehemalige Gelände der Alten Messe München grenzt direkt an die weite Fläche der Theresienwiese an. Früher fanden hier Messen und Ausstellungen statt, heute ist die Nutzung eine andere: Mit der „Theresie“ haben wir ein dynamisches städtisches Quartier geschaffen, das von seiner Vielfalt lebt.

Wohnen, Büro, Gastronomie und Einzelhandel prägen das neue Viertel. Dieser Nutzungsvielfalt haben wir durch unterschiedlich gestaltete Gebäude Ausdruck verliehen: So besticht der geschwungene, amorphe Baukörper im Zentrum durch seine detaillierte Ausarbeitung der schuppenartigen Stahl-Glas-Fassade. Trotz seiner Größe wirkt er leicht und filigran. Im Kontrast dazu stehen die markanten Kopfbauten entlang der Theresienwiese mit ihrer klassischen Natursteinfassade. Die Wohnbebauung im Süden des Quartiers heben wir gestalterisch hervor: mit einer roten Putzfassade als Farbakzent. Zwischen Wohn- und Bürogebäuden sorgt die offene Fußgängerpassage mit Läden, Cafés und Dienstleistungen im Erdgeschoss für einen Mix aus Freizeit, Wohnen und Arbeiten.

Wenn Architektur einen qualitätvollen Rahmen für verschiedene Nutzungen schafft, kann ein neues Lebensgefühl wachsen.

Projekt: Theresie, München

Auftraggeber: RREEF Investment GmbH

BGF: 105.000 m²

BRI: 417.000 m³

Wettbewerb: 01/2000, 1. Preis

Fertigstellung: 04/2004

Fotograf: Johannes Seyerlein

„Quartiere mit Mischnutzung schaffen die Qualitäten, die wir in einer Stadt suchen: Vielfalt, Offenheit und urbanes Leben.“

Ein funktionierendes Quartier zu entwickeln und mit Leben zu füllen, ist für ArchitektInnen und StadtplanerInnen immer herausfordernd. Die Theresie ist ein gutes Beispiel, wie es gelingen kann. Bis heute ist sie ein beliebter Ort, an dem sich Menschen gerne aufhalten. Unsere Architektur schafft den Rahmen dafür. Auch deshalb fühlen wir uns mit unserem eigenen Büro an der Theresienwiese zu Hause.

Relevante Themen aus Architektur und Städtebau

The city as an infinite project

Gemeinsam Innovation voranbringen