European Commission, Luxembourg

How did we aesthetically reflect the EU’s underlying idea – in a building?

“Jean Monnet 2”, a new office complex, is located on a site on the Kirchberg plateau in Luxembourg’s Europa district. Various European institutions are its neighbors, such as the European Court of Justice, the Parliament, and the Court of Auditors. The new ensemble is about 190,500 m² in size and sub-divided into an office tower around 90 meters high and a seven-story block that is some 180 meters in length.

We have architecturally translated the European Union’s openness into an inviting gesture to the urban surroundings: The “Hall of Nations” as the entrance is a continuation of the public forecourt inside the building, taking the form of a wide communicative corridor that runs right through it. In its dual function of backbone of the new building and internal boulevard, it interconnects all the departments and sections, fostering interaction between the staff of around 3,920 and visitors. It also provides access to the conference center and auditorium, the staff restaurant, the cafeteria and the library. The vibrant backbone is also brought to life by different spaces for informal communication along it, such as bridges, meeting boxes, and staircases.

By an inviting architectural gesture that embodies the principle of openness that so defines the EU.

European Commission

Project: European Commission, Luxembourg

Client: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

GFA: 190,500 m²

Competition: 12/2010, Finalist

Start of construction: 2018

Completion: 2024

“Transparency, flexibility and openness. We transpose the core EU values onto a flexible architecture that promotes informal communication and encounters.”

Dialog, flexibility and openness are not only core European Union values, but also characteristics of a good office building. With the opening gesture of the forecourt, the ensemble visualizes these values within the urban fabric.

Relevant themes from architecture and urban planning

BIM - Building Information Modeling

Driving Innovation Together

Europäische Kommission, Luxemburg

Wie bilden wir die Leitgedanken der EU in einem Gebäude ästhetisch ab?

Das Grundstück für den neuen Bürokomplex „Jean Monnet 2“ befindet sich im Europaviertel auf dem Plateau Kirchberg in Luxemburg. Hier sind verschiedene europäische Institutionen versammelt wie der Gerichtshof, das Parlament und der Rechnungshof. Das rund 190.500 m² große Ensemble gliedert sich in einen circa 90 Meter hohen Büroturm und einen siebengeschossigen, rund 180 Metern langen Gebäuderiegel.

Die Offenheit des Europäischen Staatenbundes übersetzen wir architektonisch in eine einladende städtebauliche Geste: Die Eingangshalle, die „Hall of Nations“, setzt den öffentlichen Vorplatz nach innen fort und erstreckt sich als kommunikative Magistrale über die gesamte Tiefe des Gebäudes. Als Rückgrat des Neubaus und innenliegender Boulevard verbindet sie alle Abteilungen und Bereiche miteinander. Das fördert den Austausch unter den rund 3.920 Mitarbeiter*innen und Besucher*innen. Angebunden sind auch das Konferenzzentrum mit Auditorium, das Mitarbeiterrestaurant, die Cafeteria und die Bibliothek. Unterschiedlich gestaltete Orte der informellen Kommunikation – Stege, Besprechungsboxen und Treppen – sollen die Magistrale zusätzlich beleben.

Durch eine einladende architektonische Geste, die das Prinzip der Offenheit des Staatenbundes verkörpert.

Europäische Kommission

Projekt: Europäische Kommission, Luxemburg

Auftraggeber: Großherzogtum Luxemburg

BGF: 190.500 m²

Wettbewerb: 12/2010, Finalist

Baubeginn: 2018

Fertigstellung: 2024

„Transparenz, Flexibilität und Offenheit: Wir übertragen die Leitwerte der EU in eine flexible Architektur, die informelle Kommunikation und Begegnungen fördert.“

Dialog, Flexibilität und Offenheit sind nicht nur Leitwerte des Europäischen Staatenbundes, sondern zeichnen auch ein gutes Bürogebäude aus. Die städtebauliche Geste, die sich zum Vorplatz öffnet, bringt diese Werte zum Ausdruck.

Relevante Themen aus Architektur und Städtebau

BIM - Building Information Modeling

Gemeinsam Innovation voranbringen