Maintor WinX, Frankfurt/Main

How did we transform an old company grounds into a vibrant downtown quarter?

Despite its ideal downtown location, the former Degussa grounds were for many years closed to locals. The busy CBD, Frankfurt’s Old Town, and the riverbank, so perfect for a stroll, were somehow separate parts of town. Visually speaking, the squat 1960s buildings along the river contrasted sharply with the higher skyline in the immediate vicinity of Willy Brandt Platz. So how to meaningfully upgrade the grounds in terms of pathways and architectural composition?

The surroundings are very promising, which is why it seemed obvious to us to develop a new urban quarter with mixed usages: offices, retail, and apartments. We opened up the formerly closed-off grounds, restored the historical pathways, and forged a link between Willy Brandt Platz with the Schauspielhaus, on the one hand, and the riverside promenade, on the other. The small alleys and covered arcades help harmoniously integrate the new quarter into the urban fabric, creating space for public life between homes, offices, and hospitality outlets.

In terms of its silhouette, the WinX office tower is the new quarter’s landmark. About 110 meters high, it connects the lower-lying office buildings on the riverside with the soaring bank high-rises downtown. Its glass aluminum skin stands out from the otherwise predominantly natural stone facades around it. The slight curve in its longitudinal axis gives it a sense of grace. The x-shaped footprint that gives it its name gives rise to a tower with no rear side, accessible via several entrances, both facing the street and from the central plaza in the quarter. A perfect realization of the concept of all-round accessibility for the new quarter.

We prioritized mixed usages, openness, and permeability.

Project: Maintor WinX, Frankfurt/Main

Client: GEG Development GmbH

GFA: 63,025 m²

Height: 110 m

Competition: 11/2009, 1 prize

Completion: 2020

Awards: DGNB Platinum

Photos: hiepler, brunier,

“With the WinX-Tower we have created a landmark for the new, vibrant area between downtown and the Main riverbank.”

In order to ensure a pleasant urban quarter arose, in the MainTor quarter we restored the original pathways. This makes the quarter more permeable, creates pace for new, public life between downtown and the riverside promenade. The WinX-Tower extends Frankfurt’s skyline toward the river. And is an intermediary between the higher towers to the north and the lower buildings directly along the riverbank.

Relevant themes from architecture and urban planning

Transforming Towers

The city as an infinite project

Maintor WinX, Frankfurt/Main

Wie verwandeln wir ein ehemaliges Firmenareal in ein lebendiges Innenstadtquartier?

Trotz seiner idealen Innenstadtlage war das ehemalige Degussa-Areal lange Zeit nicht für die Stadtbewohner*innen zugänglich. Das belebte Bankenviertel, die Frankfurter Altstadt und das attraktive, zum Flanieren einladende Mainufer waren klar voneinander getrennt. Auch optisch boten die niedrigen 1960er-Jahre-Bauten am Flussufer einen Gegenpol zu der höheren Skyline in unmittelbarer Nähe des Willy-Brandt-Platzes. Aber wie lässt sich dieses Areal in der Wegeführung und in seiner architektonischen Komposition sinnvoll aufwerten?

Die Umgebung ist vielversprechend. Deshalb liegt für uns die Entwicklung eines neuen urbanen Viertels mit Mischnutzungen aus Büros, Retail und Wohnen auf der Hand. Wir öffnen das ehemals abgeschottete Areal, stellen die historische Wegeverbindung wieder her und schaffen ein Bindeglied zwischen dem Willy-Brandt-Platz mit dem Schauspielhaus und der Mainpromenade. Die kleinen Gassen und geschützten Arkadengängen tragen zur harmonischen Integration des neuen Quartiers in das Stadtgefüge bei. So entsteht Raum für öffentliches Leben zwischen Wohnen, Büro und Gastronomie.

In der Hochhaus-Silhouette markiert der Büroturm WinX das neue Quartier. Mit seinen rund 110 Metern vermittelt er zwischen den niedrigeren Bürobauten in Uferlage und den signifikanten Bankentürmen der Innenstadt. Seine gläserne Aluminiumhaut hebt sich von den sonst dominierenden Natursteinfassaden in der Umgebung ab. Seine Knicklinie in der Längsachse lässt ihn grazil erscheinen. Der x-förmige Grundriss, der ihm seinen Namen verleiht, macht ihn zu einem Turm ohne Rückseite, der über verschiedene Eingänge verfügt – sowohl an der Straßenseite als auch am zentralen Quartiersplatz. So haben wir unser Konzept einer allseitigen Zugänglichkeit des Areals ideal umgesetzt.

Wir setzen auf Mischnutzung, Offenheit und Durchlässigkeit.

Projekt: Maintor WinX, Frankfurt/Main

Auftraggeber: GEG Development GmbH

BGF: 63.025 m²

Höhe: 110 m

Wettbewerb: 11/2009, 1. Preis

Fertigstellung: 2020

Auszeichnung: DGNB Platin Zertifikat

Fotograf: hiepler, brunier

„Mit dem WinX-Tower setzen wir ein Zeichen für ein neues, lebendiges Areal zwischen Innenstadt und Mainufer.“

Um ein lebenswertes Stadtquartier entstehen zu lassen, haben wir im MainTor-Quartier die ursprüngliche Wegeführung wiederhergestellt. Das machte das Areal durchlässiger und schaffte Raum für neues öffentliches Leben zwischen Innenstadt und Uferpromenade. Der WinX-Turm erweitert die Frankfurter Skyline in Richtung Main. Zugleich vermittelt er zwischen den höheren Hochhäusern in der Innenstadt und den niedrigeren Bauten am Mainufer.

Relevante Themen aus Architektur und Städtebau

Transforming Towers

The city as an infinite project