Siemens Campus, Erlangen

What are the characteristics of a modern, sustainable corporate campus?

We are creating a modern corporate campus for Siemens across a total area of 54 hectares. We have prioritized integration of the invaluable trees and the existing buildings on site. The result: an open, mixed-usage quarter which, thanks to new pedestrian and transportation routes, slots seamlessly into the urban fabric.

In the form of the research campus, we are designing a heterogeneous, organically evolved industrial district to form a new open and green district. Leafy boulevards flanked by retail and hospitality outlets likewise embrace the new residential quarters created. A large proportion of the existing trees was retained, and we planted new ones to ensure the district was completely greened. Plazas and parks provide places where people can meet, spend their leisure time, and enjoy culture.

The office buildings are modular and made using an innovative, sustainable wooden-hybrid method. The key load-bearing components are prefabricated wooden elements in conjunction with reinforced concrete, which shorten construction times and reduce CO2 emissions by about 80 percent compared to conventional construction methods. With its approx. 80,000 square meters of usable surface area, the Siemens Campus is currently the largest wooden-hybrid construction project in Germany.

Networking with the surroundings, integration of existing builds and innovative construction methods that spare resources.

Project: Siemens Campus, Erlangen

Client: Siemens AG

Site: approx. 54 ha

Office: approx. 320,000 m²

Living: approx. 100,000 m²

Other: approx. 50,000 m²

Competition: 01/ 2015, 1st prize

Laying of the foundation stone: 12/2016 (Phase 1), 10/2019 (Phase 2)

Photos: Siemens Real Estate, Marcus Bredt

“The innovative wooden and wooden-hybrid structures constitute an important part of contemporary architecture’s sustainability strategy.”

Sustainability and saving resources are key issues of the future and formed the common thread of our design for the Siemens Campus in Erlangen. We believe that preserving existing buildings and prioritizing innovative construction methods are among the most important aspects of sustainability. We plan robust buildings that are flexible. As a result, different usages are becoming ever more a matter of course.

Relevant themes from architecture and urban planning

The city as an infinite project

Driving Innovation Together

Siemens Campus, Erlangen

Was zeichnet einen nachhaltigen Unternehmenscampus aus?

Auf 54 Hektar schaffen wir einen modernen Unternehmenscampus für Siemens. Dabei ist es uns wichtig, den wertvollen Baum- und Gebäudebestand zu integrieren. So entsteht ein offenes, mischgenutztes Quartier, das sich durch neue Wegeverbindungen nahtlos in das Stadtgefüge integriert.

Mit dem Forschungscampus gestalten wir ein heterogen gewachsenes Industriegebiet als offenen und grünen Stadtteil neu. Begrünte Boulevards, gesäumt von Geschäften und Gastronomie, binden auch die neu angelegten Wohnquartiere ein. Ein Großteil des Baumbestandes bleibt erhalten. Durch neue Pflanzungen lassen wir ein vollkommen durchgrüntes Stadtgebiet entstehen. Plätze und Parks bieten Flächen für Begegnung, Freizeitaktivitäten und Kultur.
Die Bürogebäude entstehen modular und in innovativer, nachhaltiger Holzhybrid-Bauweise. Wesentliche tragende Elemente sind aus Holzelementen im Verbund mit Stahlbeton vorgefertigt. Das verkürzt die Bauzeit und spart bis zu 80 Prozent CO2 gegenüber herkömmlicher Bauweise. Mit rund 80.000 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche ist der Siemens Campus das derzeit größte Holzhybrid-Bauprojekt in Deutschland.

Vernetzung mit der Umgebung, Integration von Bestand und eine innovative, ressourcenschonende Bauweise.

Projekt: Siemens Campus, Erlangen

Auftraggeber: Siemens AG

Grundstück: ca. 54 Hektar

Büros: ca. 320.000 m²

Wohnen: ca. 100.000 m²

Andere: ca. 50.000 m²

Wettbewerb: 01/ 2015, 1. Preis

Grundsteinlegung: 12/2016 (1. BA), 10/2019 (2. BA)

Fotograf: Siemens Real Estate, Marcus Bredt

Struktur | Wegeführung | Grünflächen

„Die innovative Holz- und Holzhybrid-Bauweise ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie gegenwärtiger Architektur.“

Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcenschonung sind wesentliche Zukunftsthemen und unser Leitmotiv für den Siemens Campus in Erlangen. Bestandsbauten zu erhalten und innovative Bauweisen zu bevorzugen, zählt für uns zu den wichtigsten Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit. Wir planen robuste Gebäude, die wandlungsfähig sind. So werden verschiedene Nutzungen immer selbstverständlicher.

Relevante Themen aus Architektur und Städtebau

The city as an infinite project

Gemeinsam Innovation voranbringen